The Wait

5 May

20130505-184445.jpg

Rosalie is scheduled to see Dr. Rittmeyer in Savannah next week, which seems like an eternity. I call his office everyday, once in the morning & once in the afternoon, to check for possible cancellations so we can get in sooner.

On Thursday I called and gave my whole sob story, hoping whoever answered the phone would take pity on us & work Rosalie in sooner. The woman who answered the phone this time was very nice. She listened to my desperate plea and then put me on hold. I waited. And waited. And waited. Surely if I am on hold for this long, they must be trying to figure something out. The longer I waited, the more i thought they would help. Wrong. She came back to the phone to let me know that there were no open appointments before the 15th, for new or established patients. I hung up & cried.

Sweet little Rosalie. One of these days we are gonna get her well. Every time I think things are going ok, something happens. I have been trying to have her “newborn” pictures taken for four months now. (I’ve pretty much just given up on sending out birth announcements. I’m pretty sure all of our friends and family know that she has arrived anyway! Poor second child!) Every time we schedule pictures, we wind up in the hospital, at a doctor’s office, or it rains. I’m scared to schedule anything anymore.

Rosalie has become much more alert & responsive over the last couple of weeks. She loves being talked to and she rewards her audience with big smiles & sometimes even a little coo. It is so sweet!

20130505-175628.jpg

So next week we will head to Savannah. We are hoping to make the best of it by staying somewhere nice since it will also be Will’s birthday. We will try to have as much fun as we can with an infant tagging along. I just hope and pray that Dr. Rittmeyer can help Rosalie feel better.

Rosalie has been eating better the last two days, which is great! But she seems to be in more pain when her tummy cramps, which is not great. At all. Dr. G gave her some different medicine to help with the cramping and we think it helps some. Also, the day after she got out of the hospital, Dr. G’s office called to tell me that she tested positive for C. diff again. So she is now on her third round of flagyl & he told me to give it to her until we see Dr. Rittmeyer. C diff is some nasty stuff, y’all!

We are so thankful for the prayers for Rosalie & our family. We have such an amazing support system between our families, friends, church family, awesome neighbors, and our new family in the Down syndrome community, and we cannot tell you how much we appreciate everything y’all do for us. I have a list of thank you notes to write & it must be a mile long. There is no doubt that we are blessed and The Lord is taking care of us.

God is so good! He sure blessed us with two sweet beautiful little girls.

20130505-184149.jpg

4 Responses to “The Wait”

  1. Marge Morris May 6, 2013 at 8:40 pm #

    Thank you for sharing sweet Rosalie with all of us! I think she is amazing and I am praying for all of you every day! I hope the doctor in Savannah will give you some great news and help for that precious child. Becky and Wesley Moore were my parents best friends and I know they would be so proud of you two!

    • sogamom May 6, 2013 at 9:53 pm #

      Thank you so much! I wish they could have met Rosalie & Mary Beth. 🙂

      • Jo Lovein May 7, 2013 at 9:36 pm #

        I am glad you are going to Savannah next week. I know you think the day will never get here, but it will. Rosalie sure is growing and Mary Beth seems to enjoy her little sister. I say a prayer everyday for you all. Please let me know if I can do anything to help. I am coming to Valdosta this week and I would like to come by. I will call you . Take care and remember how much you are loved.

      • sogamom May 7, 2013 at 9:37 pm #

        Thank you! We would love to see you! We love y’all!

Leave a Reply

