Wednesday evening update

1 May

I am soooo happy to report that I am writing this message while laying in my bed at HOME!

It has been a crazy day. We have been waiting all day for Rosalie to produce what we need for the stool culture. Around 5:30 I was holding her & felt an explosion in her little tush. I immediately jumped for joy & called our awesome nurse, Whitney. She & Dr. G ran in & I don’t think I’ve ever been so excited to see poop.

Since it will take several days to get the culture back & there was nothing more Dr. G could do here, he sent us home!! Hooray! Sleep!!

The X-rays showed an ileus, which is a bowel obstruction, and that is probably what has been causing all of the problems. The next step is to see Dr. Rittmeyer in Savannah. He is a pediatric gastroenterologist. Our appointment isn’t until the 15th but I am calling everyday to check for cancellations. If you are reading this & you know someone who works there or has any connection that could possibly get us in quicker, I would love to talk to you!

Rosalie is doing well. She gets really crampy & fussy, so we are just trying to keep her comfy for now & trying to get her to EAT! She is such a trooper & a tough little baby! Love her so so much!

Thanks so much for all of the prayers, phone calls, messages, & visits! Love you all!! I’m about to catch up on some sleep now! Night night!

PS: Thank you to Dr. G & the peds nurses & techs at SGMC! They are the best!

One last thing, I have to share my new favorite picture of sweet Rosalie:

20130501-194046.jpg

 

Edited to add:   I bought this outfit when I found out we were having a girl. After she was born, anytime I would get down & discouraged about Down syndrome & her being in the nicu, I would just think about taking her home & dressing her in this outfit & it would give me a comforting & hopeful feeling for her future.:)And now she can finally wear it!

6 Responses to “Wednesday evening update”

  1. Amy Bonner May 1, 2013 at 7:48 pm #

    I love this picture! She is absolutely adorable…I love this little outfit!

    • sogamom May 1, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

      Thanks Amy!! I bought this outfit when I found out we were having a girl. After she was born, anytime I would get down & discouraged about Down syndrome & her being in the nicu, I would just think about taking her home & dressing her in this outfit & it would give me a comforting & hopeful feeling for her future. 🙂 And now she can finally wear it!

  2. Charlotte Giddens May 1, 2013 at 7:56 pm #

    That is great! Dr. Rittmeyer is great! Oliver had to go see him , he is really nice and highly recomended! Let us know if you need anything when you come to savannah.we are down the street from his office!
    So happy y’all are home,
    Charlotte

    • sogamom May 1, 2013 at 8:03 pm #

      Awesome! Thank you Charlotte!!

  3. Lisa Ashcraft May 1, 2013 at 8:53 pm #

    She looks adorable in that outfit!! Glad you are able to get some sleep!! Love reading this blog, I tear up just about every time. Next time I’m home I want to come see ya’ll!!

    • sogamom May 1, 2013 at 8:57 pm #

      Thank you! You better come see us! Love y’all!

Leave a Reply

